Termites

Termites are considered to be one of the most-damaging pests in the world; they are able to survive in harsh environment.  Throughout history, they have never stopped destroying our homes, furniture, storages, dams, vegetation, telecommunication facilities, car and crafts, military equipments; etc.

Typical termites are grey in color, wingless, soft body and a pair of short antenna.  Reproduction made by the king and the queen have two pairs of long wings, short stern and round head.  Different types of termites can be found in warm environment, they usually nest in or near the soil and in the woods.

Common Termites Groups

According to the nest location, termites are lumped into three distinct groups: Subterranean Termites, Drywood Termites and Dampwood Termites.  Drywood and dampwood termites have small colonies (approximately several hundreds of termites in colony).  They live in the woods.  Drywood termites infest dry and undecayed wood , and dampwood termites usually feed on damp and rotten wood.

Subterranean termites nest in or near the soil, and infest wood in soil.  Termites construct shelter tunnels in connection with wood through the soil suitable moisture and temperature.  These tunnels are made up of termites spit, soil, indigested wood materials and excrement, and can be built above the soil.  If the environment has enough moisture and humidity dampwood, subterranean termites would also build nest above the ground but not in the soil, usually we can see their presence on the roof.

Subterranean termites have large colonies, at least over millions; an example would be the Taiwan termites.  They are active; members can have activities hundred meters away.  Because of their large colonies and active characteristics, subterranean termites are highly destructive.

Feeding

Termites feed on all cellulose materials, such as wood, paper, carton, board, cotton; etc.  They try to pass through and destroy cellulose materials such as plaster, rubber tube and underground wire, even some of tender metals such as lead, copper and aluminum.

Briefly, except concrete soil, everything in your home may be destroyed by termites.  More terribly, they can pass concrete through tiny crack and loose seam, and travel within the building.

Termites are common in Hong Kong, large number of termites fly into premises especially before tropical wind and raining.  Reproductive termites release their wings after they have successfully found their designated “home”.  To distinguish termites from ants are that ants have fine waist, thorax and abdomen are significantly separate, whereas termites’ abdomen are broadly joined at the thorax.

Termites require moisty environments to live on.  They maintain lively by staying away from dry atmosphere and they shelter under the surface of moist wood, and they will seek shelter from constructed nest with sands.

Termites are economic destructive pests.  They will not spread diseases, but they will destroy wooden structure that will result in economic loss.  As you can see from the pictures, part of the furniture is destroyed by termites and the wooden flooring, the door and doorframe have been eroded.

白蟻

白蟻是世界性的害蟲之一,在自然界的惡劣環境中,歷經滄桑,卻能安之若素地生存於至今。在其漫長的歷史歲月中,它從未停止過對人類生產生活進行肆無忌憚地侵害,房屋建築、傢具衣物、倉儲物資、水庫堤壩、農林果木、通訊設備、車輛船舶、軍需器械、圖書檔案等等,幾乎涉及國計民生的各個領域,無所不噬、無所不損。

典型的白蟻特徵是灰白色、無翅、體柔軟,有咀嚼式口器以及短觸角。生殖階層包括白蟻王及白蟻后均有兩對長翅,短尾毛及圓形或橢圓形的頭部。白蟻遍佈全世界的溫暖地區,棲地多樣化,常棲居在泥土中及木頭裡。白蟻已被國際昆蟲科學家們共認的世界性五大害蟲之一。

白蟻的種類
根據築巢的位置,白蟻大致可分為三類:地下白蟻、乾木白蟻和濕木白蟻。乾木白蟻和濕木白蟻的社群較小(每個社群約有數百隻蟻)。它們只在木材中生活,不會與泥土有接觸。乾木白蟻只侵食乾爽、堅固的木料;而濕木白蟻通常侵食潮濕和腐爛的木料。

地下白蟻在泥土裡築巢,侵食與泥土有直接接觸的木材。它們在地面覓食時會築起管道(蟻路)。這些蟻路含白蟻的唾液、泥土、未經完全消化的木料和排泌物,可築於泥土表面。這些管道能保護白蟻,並保持適當的濕度和溫度。如果地上的木材有足夠的濕度,白蟻亦會建立一些與泥土沒有接觸的‘地面巢穴’,通常在屋頂可以見到。

地下蟻社群極為龐大,例如台灣家白蟻的社群,普遍可達百萬隻以上。它們很活躍,成員可以到一百米以外覓食。由於它們的龐大‘數目’與激進的特性,地下蟻是最具破壞力的害蟲。

食物喜好與破壞
所有含纖維素的物料,如木材、紙張、卡紙、纖維板及棉質纖維等,都是白蟻的食物。在覓食過程中,白蟻會嘗試穿過並破壞一些非纖維物料,如灰泥、塑料管和地下電纜,甚至一些軟金屬如鉛、銅、鋁等。

簡單而言,除了混凝土以外,你家裡任何東西都有機會被破壞。但更可怕的是,它們能透過一些細小、早已存在的罅隙和連接位穿過混凝土,在建築物內暢通無阻。

白蟻在香港非常普遍,每逢風雨前夕,成群飛入室內後脫翅的飛蟻便是有生殖能力的白蟻,白蟻與普通蟻最明顯分別在腰部,普通蟻的腰非常纖幼,胸與腹明顯分開,而白蟻的胸腹分界不明顯

白蟻必須在潮濕的環境中生存,蛀蝕木塊時也不會咬穿木皮,以免與外部乾燥空氣接觸而脫水死亡,在沒有木材的地方,它們會以沙泥,排泄物等築成密封的巢

白蟻屬於經濟害蟲‭,不會咬人及散播病菌‭,但會破壞木質結構‭,做成經濟損失‭,圖中是蛀壞了的部份傢俬櫃‭,該單位的木地板‭地腳線‭,門及門框也已經嚴重蛀蝕須要重新裝修‭